Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

    •  
      CommentAuthorvelosport
    • CommentTimeNov 23rd 2010
     
    I'm trying out Ulysses for the nice, long trial period (thanks!) and am starting to feel like this is the tool between LaTeX and Pages that I have been hoping to find. However, absolutely foundational for me is being able to have everything sync via Dropbox (moving from home laptop to work computer seamlessly). I thought this was going fine, but then I encountered somewhat of an odd error yesterday (something about reverting to a previous saved version, or generally along those lines), which led me to these forums and some searches of older discussions. I now realize that I was probably not being cautious enough in thinking through how Ulysses saves these bundled Project files.

    Here is my basic situation and needs, and maybe someone can chime in just to say whether my assumptions are correct:

    I do not care about having automated, background backups running - I don't need to be able to roll back the versions to revive some text I may have subsequently deleted. I want to work on a project in U, hit save every few minutes as I work, stop working for the day at the office, go home and pick up where I left off on my laptop at home. If I turn off all of the automated backup settings on both copies of U (home and work), can I do what I just outlined?

    Looking around, I realize that U isn't actually saving those backups to my dropbox folder anyway...so maybe this isn't an issue to begin with. Or, maybe *only* putting a Ulysses project inside a Dropbox folder isn't sufficient to capture all of the necessary bundled files? If so, do I need to put something else in Dropbox from U? Do I need to symlink something (like I've done for other apps)?

    Searching these forums, I did not see these concerns addressed, but apologies in advance if I am asking something that has been dealt with before (or even routinely).

    Ben
    •  
      CommentAuthorniklas
    • CommentTimeNov 23rd 2010
     
    Hi Ben,

    As you said, there have been reports of occasional errors with dropbox before, so there appears to be some risk involved (which is a reason to *not* turn off backups!).
    I use it anyway, although not for my most critical projects (yet), and so far so good. No errors. I work just like you said. Write on one my laptop, close the project (feels wise...), and then open the project and pick up where I left it on my stationary computer. Everything needed is in the project bundle (not sure about export settings though. The location of these is somewhat confusing to me as they sometimes seem to follow the project, sometimes the computer...).

    Note that you don't need to save for it to work. Everything in Ulysses is always saved, it is just that until you explicitly save a document it is saved in its "opened" state. This also means that until you explicitly save you can always revert to the last saved version.

    Niklas
    •  
      CommentAuthorvelosport
    • CommentTimeNov 24th 2010
     
    Niklas

    Thanks for that - good to hear that you've had success with Dropbox.

    So, to try to clarify on the issue of "automatic" or background saving, it seems like Ulysses is still running some kind of background "save" feature, *even if* I have disabled the "Backups" function in the Preferences? However, that constant "save" function isn't necessarily causing trouble with Dropbox (unless, of course, I were to have the same Project open on *both* computers at the same time...which would obviously be a bad idea)?

    Ben
    •  
      CommentAuthorfehnman
    • CommentTimeNov 24th 2010
     

    So, to try to clarify on the issue of "automatic" or background saving, it seems like Ulysses is still running some kind of background "save" feature, even if I have disabled the "Backups" function in the Preferences?

    Yeah. We save everything you write, in every open document. You can, for example, just write, write, write, close the project and open it again – everything will be there, without you ever having to hit cmd-s or even think about explicitely saving once.

    •  
      CommentAuthorniklas
    • CommentTimeNov 24th 2010
     
    Well yes, automatic saving and backup are two different things. Backup is done at regular intervals (when opening and closing a project by default, I think) and should not cause any problems with dropbox, I presume, especially since the backups are by default stored outside the dropbox folder. Automatic saving is done constantly. Try it, just type something, close the project directly and reopen it. There you are... Almost like magic. This is a wonderful feature, I think, as you can concentrate on writing and never worry over losing your brilliant lines. I suspect that this *may* be a potential problem with Dropbox, but I don't really know. I guess the soulmen have to weigh in on that.

    But again, I still haven't seen any problems...
    •  
      CommentAuthorvelosport
    • CommentTimeNov 30th 2010
     
    Ah, OK, that clarifies it for me - thanks! Given that my setup and workflow pretty much guarantee I won't ever have the same project open in two places, I think I'll just forge ahead with Dropbox.
    And, I'll probably end up buying U once my trial finishes. Looking over the blog, though, it seems there was a Christmas sale last year. Maybe I'll hold off to see if that emerges again ;-)
    •  
      CommentAuthorsmolk
    • CommentTimeJun 4th 2012
     
    I'm not sure I should revive an old thread, but it is relevant to the discussion:
    Now that iDisk is going, I need something else, hence looking into Dropbox. (I also have Backblaze but like to spread my options!).

    I understand that dropbox had concurrency problems, although perhaps rarely, and depending on work mode. Now:
    1. Has dropbox made changes that changed the situation?
    2. If not, would not making symlinks to ~/Dropbox solve the issue, because you're always working outside of Dropbox—i.e. offline working cannot really mess things up as the main file is outside ~/Dropbox ?

    Unfortunately, I cannot then also symlink a second computer, but I must just keep running ChronoSync on both!
    •  
      CommentAuthorgoetz
    • CommentTimeJun 4th 2012 edited
     

    We don't know of any problems with Dropbox syncing. Also, we have a syncing option to keep both files in case of conflicts between them. This way, you should never lose any content.

    The next version of Daedalus will also bring support for WebDAV and Box.com.