Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.9 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

  1.  
    Hello,

    I'm trying to sync Daedalus with Scrivener 2 on the Mac. So far, I've already been able to sync Daedalus with the Scrivener folder through Dropbox. Scrivener recognizes Daedalus files without any problem at all. Nevertheless, when I delete files on Scrivener and sync back to Daedalus, it just uploades again those files from Daedalus (the ones I had suposedly erased), instead of deleting them from the app. Can the app recognize the deletions made on the server and erase those files from the app? Or will I have to erase them always from the app, in order to delete them from the server?

    Thank you.
  2.  
    It's been nine days since I posted this, but I've had no response. After many frustrating hours, the problem remained, and I just quit trying to sync my projects in progress with the app. I hope you're able to fix the synchronization issues in the future.
    •  
      CommentAuthorniklas
    • CommentTimeDec 7th 2011
     
    I may be wrong, but I think you have to delete files from within Daedalus, otherwise they will just be re-created in Dropbox (and on the Mac).

    I agree that this can be irritating but I suppose that it is a safeguard against accidental loss of files. It is after all possible that a user may want to delete a file from the Mac, but still retain it on Daedalus. It is a general problem with syncing I think, it is difficult to anticipate what consequences your actions will have and somehow the software must safeguard against user mistakes, especially when it comes to destructive actions such as file deletions.

    Having said that, I agree that it is a nuisance, and wouldn't mind more clever way to handle file deletions. One could of course argue that file deletions are not quite as destructive in this particular case, as Dropbox retains old versions and deleted files anyway.
    •  
      CommentAuthorfehnman
    • CommentTimeDec 7th 2011 edited
     
    I might be wrong and misunderstand your request, but you can define how deletions should be handled from within Daedalus' sync settings. Just tap'n'hold the sync button. E.g. you can set to have files kept unless deleted by Daedalus or even the other way around etc.
    •  
      CommentAuthorniklas
    • CommentTimeDec 7th 2011
     
    Ah yes, of course. I even remember having seen that now that you mentioned it. But apparently I forgot about it. So I guess I decided against it ...

    Safety over convenience, I guess.